Special Education

“Why fit in when you are born to stand out?” -Dr. Suess
Special education provides students with identified disabilities specialized instruction that is designed to meet each of their unique needs. Plainview prides itself in having a program that gives students the opportunity to develop to their fullest potential. Special education is delivered free of charge through the public education system, thanks to the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). We have a wonderful staff that works hard for each of our students. We have a team that takes a few of our students to Urban Air every Wednesday for a sensory hour as part of a physical therapy/occupational therapy program. We celebrate Autism Awareness month in April, and we have an outstanding Special Olympics team to keep our students active and involved. 


This page contains helpful links if you have  questions and it also has contact information for each staff member on our amazing special education team. 

Links:

State Department Special Services Division:   http://sde.state.ok.us/Curriculum/SpecEd/Default.html
Parent Rights:   http://sde.state.ok.us/Curriculum/SpecEd/pdf/Docs_Forms/English/Parents_Rights.pdf
State Department of Education:   http://sde.state.ok.us/
Autism Link:   http://www.autism-society.org/site/PageServer
Down Syndrome Link:   http://www.dsaco.org/
Learning Disability Link:  http://www.ldao.org/
Council for Exception Children:   
http://www.oklahomacec.com/


Contacts:

Special Education Director: Brook Vernon
Email:
bvernon@plainview.k12.ok.us
Phone: (580) 224-3420

High School Special Education Teacher: Renee Carter
Email: 
rcarter@plainview.k12.ok.us

High School Special Education Teacher: Tresa Kagan
Email: 
tkagan@plainview.k12.ok.us

Middle School Special Education Teacher: Paula McKendrick
Email: pmckendrick@plainview.k12.ok.us

Middle School Special Education Teacher: Deon Stevenson
Email:
dstevenson@plainview.k12.ok.us

Intermediate Special Education Teacher: 
Jessi Stearns
Email: 
jstearns@plainview.k12.ok.us

Intermediate Special Education Teacher: JD Windham
Email:
jdwindham@plainview.k12.ok.us

Primary Special Education Teacher: Gina Berger
Email: 
gberger@plainview.k12.ok.us

Primary Special Education Teacher: Ariel Rickets
Email: 
arickets@plainview.k12.ok.us

Primary and Intermediate Special Education Teacher: Dana Richardson
Email: 
drichardson@plainview.k12.ok.us

We also have some wonderful support staff members working as paraprofessionals that help make our team even better.

High School Paraprofessionals: Stephanie Trotts
Middle School Paraprofessionals:
Melissa Rozzell, Ryan Henning and Belinda Biddick 
Intermediate Paraprofessionals:
Lauren Burum, and Peggie Lewis 
Primary Paraprofessionals:
Misty Byran, Jose Alvarez, Billy Owens,  and Jeanette Stevens